Sir Henry Fermor Church of England Primary School

Google Translate

Google Translate

Home Page

Sir Henry Fermor

Church of England Primary School

Tel: 01892 652405

Content Slideshow



Term 1

Phonics Phase 1 & 2

Phase 1 of our phonics are based around seven aspects of sound: environmental, instrumental, body sounds, rhythm and rhyme, alliteration, voice sounds and oral blending and segmenting. If you would like some ideas of games and activities you can do with your child at home then the phonics play website has some great ideas for home learning. 


Phase 2 phonics are taught in the following order:

  • Set 1: s, a, t, p.
  • Set 2: i, n, m, d.
  • Set 3: g, o, c, k.
  • Set 4: ck, e, u, r.
  • Set 5: h, b, f, ff, l, ll, ss.


School reading books

Keep practicing to read your school reading book at home (your teacher has given you a school reading book that is at your level for your phonic learning) and ask your parent/carer to make a note in your reading record to tell us you have read. Make sure you discuss the book together to secure understanding about what is being read, What is this book about? What might happen next? How do you know?

Reading books must come to school in your book bag everyday as you could be taking part in Reading club at school and you wouldn't want to miss that! 


Have fun reading! 

The Early Years Team