Sir Henry Fermor Church of England Primary School

Google Translate

Google Translate

Home Page

Sir Henry Fermor

Church of England Primary School

Tel: 01892 652405

Content Slideshow



We are currently looking for governors from our local community to join our school’s Local Governing Body.  Our governors come from a range of backgrounds, skills and experience but all share a common interest of wanting the best education and outcomes for the children in our school.


We would be delighted to hear from anyone who is:

  • Interested in children’s education and the performance of the school
  • Has spare time and energy for the role
  • Is able to work well as part of a team
  • Has an enquiring mind and the confidence to ask questions and debate issues which affect the school
  • Considers matters objectively and makes informed judgements


Governors gain a great deal from the work and time they contribute. It gives them an opportunity to serve the local community, contribute to children’s education, and a chance to help realise their own potential by learning new skills and practise existing ones.  For more detail please read the information note below or contact the School Clerk.



Sir Henry Fermor CE Primary School joined the Tenax Schools Trust as an academy on 1 April 2016. The Tenax Schools Trust is a Church of England multi-academy trust (MAT) that exists to provide outstanding education in both primary and secondary schools in Kent and East Sussex. Under the governance arrangements for the Tenax Schools Trust, each of its academies has its own Local Governing Body (LGB) to allow some areas of work to be monitored in more detail.


Sir Henry Fermor CE Primary School has 9 governors.


Mrs Elizabeth Croft, Chair of Governors 

Mrs Vicki Edwards, Headteacher,

Mrs Karran Hill,

Miss Victoria Rose, 

Reverend Stephen Rees, 

Ms Kate Clark-Knight,

Mrs Hayley Kinsella 

Mr Ernst Stols

Mr Stephen Woolmer



All governors are appointed by Tenax Schools Trust, with the exception of the two parent governors who are elected by parents and the staff governor who is elected by staff.


Our Clerk to Local Governors is Ms Laura Ives.


Our Local Governing Body meets 3 times per year.


The roles and responsibilities of the Local Governing Body are:

  • Standards and Safeguarding

  • Ethos, Character and Local Traditions

  • Working with Parents and the Local Community


Further details of the LGB's roles and responsibilities are contained in the Terms of Reference document below.


Individual governors also take on specific responsibilities as “link governors” for areas of the curriculum and aspects of the school’s life. These are detailed in the school’s LGB Information document below.


We are fortunate to have such a dedicated board of governors who are very active within the school; regularly coming into school and sharing in the learning and teaching taking place.



If you wish to contact the Chair of Governors, Mrs Elizabeth Croft, by letter please send c/o the School Office or email the Clerk to the LGB –